General Information

Discussions

What is the schedule for the AGM?


The AGM is scheduled on Wednesday, February 2, 2022 at:

  • 4 pm PT
  • 5 pm MT
  • 6 pm CT
  • 7 pm ET
  • 8 pm AT
  • 8:30 pm NT
and will run for two (2) hours.




I can attend part of the meeting. Do I register/assign a proxy voter?


Voting is not happening live. In very rare or urgent circumstances, a proxy voter may need to be assigned. We predict that most voting members will be able to log into the website (www.casli.ca) and cast their votes.




What platform will be used for the meeting?


CASLI will use Zoom Webinar to conduct the meeting. Be sure to register once the link is available.




What language will be used?


The entire AGM will be conducted in ASL. Interpretation into ASL will not be provided into spoken English.




Will voting be live?


No, voting will not be done live. Members will have an opportunity to cast votes after the discussions of the AGM have wrapped up.




How do I register?


If you plan to attend the live discussion portion of the AGM, please use the link to register once it is available.





Voting

How will voting be conducted?


Voting will be done through the CASLI website. Use your login credentials to access the member section of the website and cast your votes.




I can't attend. How do I send a proxy vote?


If you cannot attend the discussions, you can still vote via the CASLI website (www.casli.ca). Use your login credentials to access the member section and cast your votes. In very rare or urgent circumstances, a proxy voter may need to be assigned. We predict that most voting members will be able to log into the website (www.casli.ca) and cast their votes.




How do you know only CASLI members are voting?


By voting through CASLI.ca, we can ensure that only voting members will have access to the individual ballots.




Are votes anonymous?


Yes -- all votes are anonymous. Members will not be able to see how others voted.




Can I see how others voted?


While the Executive Director, website administrators could see voter details, those details will not be available to other voting members or the public.





Zoom

My messages are being ignored on Zoom chat!


Chat will be enabled during the AGM.

  • Tech Support
  • Submit a motion
  • Queue to the floor




I can't see who is presenting in Zoom; how do I change that?


This will be important since the meeting will be conducted in ASL. There will be a person who controls the "spotlight," meaning the person who is presenting should appear on your screen. Since we will be using Zoom webinar, there should be fewer issues. You can also:

  • Ensure the "Hide non-video participants" is enabled
  • Use Gallery view




What if my device stops working during the meeting or I have a poor connection?


Sorry - there is not much we can do if your device spontaneously quits working during the meeting. Here are some tips to ensure all goes well for you: Helpful Tips

  • Check your internet speed, camera, screen before the meeting starts
  • Use a hardwire connection for an optimal, stable internet connection.
  • Have a backup device, like a smartphone or tablet, ready with the Zoom app installed.
  • Use a laptop or desktop computer to access the meeting. Processes on a tablet or mobile may add complications.




How do I turn off my camera or microphone?


On your screen, you will see two buttons: a microphone and a camera. They should be close together, often at the bottom of the screen. You can click these to toggle between off and on for audio and video. If your microphone is off, you will see a red line through the microphone. Likewise, if your camera is off, you will see a red line through the camera camera button.